For further information | e-mail |
Home | Books | What's New | Collectables | Videos

Caps also awarded to Muttiah Muralitharan and Sourav Ganguly

Presentation Cap to Harbhajan Singh

Indian spinner Harbhajan Singh is one of four key Indian players from the last Test series against Australia, to be presented with a Bradman 'Art of Cricket' cap. Publisher Tom Thompson passed over the caps and cds to Singh, VVS Laxman, and the first cap, appropriately, to Sachin Tendulkar.

"Bradman's legacy centres on his memoir and cricket coaching manual, The Art of Cricket, publisher Tom Thompson said today.

"In these works we have his views on the history, technique and spirit of the game as it should be played. The Bradman Art of Cricket caps were made in 1998, to be given by the publisher to those cricketers who played attractive cricket, advancing the game throughout the world. It was always the Don's wish that the first cap should go to Sachin Tendulkar."

Saurav Ganguly received his cap in Calcutta through The Times of India, for his outstanding captaincy in leading a young team against formidable opposition. A cap was presented to Muttaih Muralitharan, another of Bradman's favourite players, with his cap and 'Art of Cricket' CD-Rom at Old Trafford

Only fifty Bradman Art of Cricket caps were made by Albion, to honour Bradman's first club, St George. The Bradman presentation caps hold an image of the Don in 1928, embroidered into the St George cloth. A personally signed copy of the cap, has been on public exhibition since 1998, to promote 'The Art of Cricket' book, CD-ROM and personally signed posters.

Bradman left the concrete wickets of Bowral for the turf wickets of Hurstville Oval, home of St George District Cricket Club. From 1926 to 1932 - this was his home ground, at the time of his greatest record-breaking deeds.

Following Bradman to St George were his great competitors, Bill O'Reilly, Ray Lindwall and Arthur Morris - all of whom he played Test cricket with. All four St George players were included in the Australian team of the century. Other Australian Test team members of St George include Brian Booth, Norman O'Neill, Will Watson, Kerry O'Keefe, Murray Bennett and Stuart McGill.

While Bradman never won a First Grade Premiership with his home club, McGill helped win the premiership in his first season, when St George beat Greg Matthew's Eastern Suburbs on April 1, 2001.


Home | Books | What's New | Collectables | Videos

For further information about ETT Imprint, contact the publisher,
Tom Thompson: PO Box R.1906, Royal Exchange NSW 1225 Australia. e-mail